This 8-hour course, written by the Council on Law Enforcement Education &Training (CLEET), covers:
- introduction to handguns
- fundamentals of shooting
- legal requirements
- how to apply for a handgun license
It includes 6 classroom hours, a written exam and two hours of outdoor live-fire training. No prior experience is necessary. This course is required to apply for an Oklahoma concealed carry handgun license, but is also a good introductory course for any man or woman interested in handguns. A certificate will be awarded to students who pass a written safety exam and demonstrate safe gun handling on the range. Students must be at least 21 years old and hold an Oklahoma driver’s license or state-issued ID card. Persons with a criminal, drug or mental health history may not take this course. Students must sign a hold-harmless agreement prior to taking the range session.
Saturday classroom sessions: Hillside Church, 900 S. Campbell Rd, Tahlequah
Sunday range session: Cherokee Wildlife Management Area public outdoor range near Zeb, if all students have an Oklahoma hunting license. If not, we’ll use a private range at the McLaughlin farm.
Firearms and ammo: Student firearms are not allowed in the class sessions. Students may bring their own handguns to the range session (semiautomatic handgun recommended, rather than a revolver; .45 caliber or smaller, including .22), but they must be unloaded and boxed or in a holster. Do not remove them from the box or holster until told to do so by the instructor. Loaner guns are available at no charge. Bring 50 rounds of your own ammunition or you can buy it from the instructor at $10/box for 9mm or $5/fifty rounds for .22 long rifle.
Number of students: For both classes, 1-4 students accepted.
Items needed for the classroom sessions
- Oklahoma driver’s license or state-issued ID
- Note taking material or computer
Items needed for the range session
- Hearing protection (inside or over-the-ear protection or both)
- Safety glasses or normal prescription spectacles
- Insect repellent, sun screen
- Season-appropriate outdoor clothing; i.e. closed shoes/boots, long pants, closed-neck shirt, brimmed hat
- Oklahoma hunting licenses (recommended, but not required)
No smoking, dipping, eating or drinking during the range exercises. Bathroom facilities are not available. Don’t use any alcohol or drugs (prescription or non-prescription) that can impair judgement on the day of the course. Follow all safety rules and instructions. Violators may be dismissed and forfeit all course fees.
Shooting includes a risk of exposure to lead, which is toxic. Verify with your physician that it is safe for you to shoot outdoors in this course.
The instructor, Dr. Salmon, is a
- Retired NSU professor
- US Army veteran
- Oklahoma-licensed handgun instructor
- Oklahoma-licensed armed security guard
- Certified NRA pistol instructor and range safety officer
- Competitive shooter with the International Defensive Pistol Association (IDPA)
- International Defensive Pistol Association (IDPA) safety officer
Class: Oklahoma SDA (concealed handgun licensing) class
Date: Second Saturday/Sunday of each month.
Time: Sat: 9 - noon, 2 - 5 PM. Sun: 2 - 5 PM
Location: Hillside Church, 900 S Campbell Rd., Tahlequah 74464
- Feb. 9 & 10, 2019 Registration deadline: Feb. 4, 2019.
- Feb. 16 & 17, 2019 Registration deadline: Feb. 11, 2019.
- March 9 & 10, 2019 Registration deadline: Mar. 4, 2019.
- Apr 13 & 14, 2019 Registration deadline: Apr. 8, 2019.
Steps to obtaining your Conceal Carry permit after the course
After successfully completing the course (written test and range safety test), Dr. Salmon will issue a certificate. Then you must:
- Apply online at the OSBI site (http://osbi.ok.gov/handgun-licensing). You'll fill in a long multi-page application, pay $100 and upload your ID photo. When all is completed, download your "summary form."
- Take the summary form to the sheriff of your residence county. (This can be done at the courthouse) The Sheriff will run a quick background check and sign the form.
- Take the summary form, the course completion certificate and money order for $25 to your local police finger-printing place. In Cherokee County, it's the Cherokee County Detention center on the 51 Bypass. Get your fingerprints and that office will submit your application to OSBI.
- Wait about a month or two and it should come back, assuming you pass their background checks.